Chamber Builds Success And Forward Momentum

Anita Campbell
County Reporter
Over 70 members of the Warsaw Chamber of Commerce gathered at the Truman Overlook Center on January 17 for the State of the Chamber event.  A new twist to the annual event included a wonderful meal of chicken, meatballs and pasta catered by the new R-Bar located on Wildcat Drive.
As the Chamber members reviewed the past year, the following awards were presented:
Top Sponsors of the Year Awards were presented to the Hawthorn Bank and Sterett Creek Marina.
The Volunteerism Award was presented to Mike and Shawn Barker of Rolling Perfections.
The Partnership Award was presented to Benton County Tourism.
Chamber President Leo Porter spoke to the Chamber members about the history of the Warsaw area as well inspiring members as to where the Chamber can go to promote the area.
Mayor Eddie Simons also addressed the Chamber about the fact that Warsaw is not just the city limits and that businesses in town succeed when businesses outside the city limits succeed.
City planner Randy Pogue also spoke to Chamber members with information about the future of the Warsaw area.
Chamber Director Mac Vorce then led the Chamber members in a project to focus on the area’s assets and what type of events they want to plan for the future.
“It was a very uplifting meeting as people who might not even know each other that well came together to discuss plans for the future,” Vorce said.  “We spent the evening communicating instead of just looking at presentations.  We found out that many of us are thinking the same way and that now we need to put those ideas to work.”
The Chamber currently has 228 members but their goal is 250.
“We want to pull the community together,” said Vorce.  “Our slogan for the year is ‘Invest in Home’ as we encourage everyone to invest in the Warsaw area.”
The next big event for the Chamber is the Lake Life Hunting and Fishing Show on February 23 starting at 9 AM in the Community Building.
Members of the Chamber include:  Leo Porter, president; Josh Sater, secretary; Lori Dunkin, treasurer; Kevin LaPittus, Carrie Rieman, Jessie Kendall, Chuck Allcorn, Ron Letcher, Cassie Sanders, Drew Burdick, Eric Reinersten, Deanne Glenn, board of directors; Erin Cordrey, Corp of Engineers liaison; Mac Vorce, director and Jenn Bradshaw, office assistant.  Board meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 9 AM in the Chamber office.  Mac Vorce can be reached at the Warsaw Chamber of Commerce office, 438-5922.