Courthouse- New Faces In New Places

Judy Kramer
County Reporter
Mid Term elections are over in Benton County, and newly elected officials are preparing to take their posts. Steve Daleske will step into the position of Presiding County Commissioner, Carla J. Brown will be the new Recorder of Deeds, and David Brodersen takes over as Collector. All will serve 4-year terms. Roger Reedy, current Assessor, will be resigning his position in January to become the new State Representative for District 57. His term as Assessor does not expire until September 1, 2019 and Governor Mike Parson will appoint his temporary replacement.
Incumbents who will remain in their positions are Michael O. Hendrickson, Circuit Judge for Circuit 30; Mark B. Pilley, Associate Circuit Judge; Susan Porterfield, County Clerk; Cheryl Schultz, Circuit Clerk; Rick Renno, Treasurer, and Karen Coffey Woodley, Prosecuting Attorney.
New officials were asked to summarize their goals and plans when they step into their new positions.
Carla Brown said that she primarily wants to continue the historic preservation of records, getting them electronically scanned for a back up. She may make some procedural changes in the way the office is run, but they won’t affect the public.
“The present incumbent and staff have done a fantastic job and I hate to see Bev (Beverly Burnett) retire,” said Brown. “But, I am looking forward to the job.”
Brown brings years of experience into her new job. She has worked in the Benton County Assessor’s Office for the past 22 years, and before that worked four years at Drake Land and Title.  Before marrying her husband, Stan, and moving to Benton County, she was Deputy Recorder in Hickory County. She has also maintained the Benton County History Facebook page for the past three or four years and has 4,600 followers. When she first started the page, the Benton County Historical Society did not have its own Facebook page. But now she works with its volunteers and supplies historical photos that she collects as a hobby.
David Brodersen, a field appraiser in the Benton County Assessor’s Officer since 2006, starts his position as Collector beginning in March. He replaces Donna Hart who is retiring. He does not plan to make a lot of changes at first, but wants to get started and see what is in place. He does have some ideas that he may want to implement later in his term such as allowing tax bills to be paid in monthly, quarterly or semi-annual increments.  Currently taxes are paid annually. He wants to talk to other collectors to get their point of view about such a system.
“We have good employees in the office, and I look forward to working with them,” said Brodersen.
Brodersen is married to Suzie Brodersen, State Farm Insurance Agent in Warsaw. They have two sons, one who just graduated from college and the other a college sophomore.
Steve Daleske will replace Michelle Kreisler who decided not to run for a second term as Presiding Commissioner. He previously served as South Side County Commissioner from 2012 to 2016. During his term, he was involved in many projects including construction of the county’s maintenance shed after a major fire destroyed it, bridge constructions and a replacement, road overlaying and repairs. He runs a farm on Route MM, and previously worked 25 years as a Sedalia fire fighter. He also served as a Reserve Warsaw Police Officer for five years, and worked in residential and commercial construction. 
Daleske’s goals for his new position include working to keep the county financially sound while still moving forward, not only with infrastructure, but the needs of the whole county. He wants to work with all cities in the county and open up lines of communication with all people.
“I want to move the county in a forward direction,” said Daleske in a January article in the Benton County Enterprise announcing his candidacy. “Not just for the four years of my term, but for five, ten, and 15 years ahead.”
Daleske is currently a member of the Benton County Cattlemen’s Association, the NRA, International Association of Firefighters, and is president of the Farmer’s Mutual Insurance Company Board.