An Extraordinary League Of Students And Teachers

Anita Campbell
County Reporter
The Warsaw Area Chamber of Commerce in conjunction with the Warsaw R-IX Board of Education and School District held the Twenty-Ninth annual Academic Awards Banquet on May 23 in the WHS gym.
WHS graduate Kyle Rieman was the featured guest speaker.  Rieman, the son of Carrie Rieman, graduated from WHS with the class of 2007 and then continued his education at Missouri State University.  He is currently the Director of the Joint Committee on Legal Research and Fiscal Overview for the Missouri House of Representatives in Jefferson City.      
Long time Warsaw Elementary School teachers Kathy Anstaett, Jackie Barb and Elaine Simons were awarded  Academic Service Awards.  They were introduced by their long time superintendent, Dr. John Boise.
Seniors receiving Academic Excellence Awards and Scholarships included:  Taylor Bunch, Suzanne Cortright, Alexandrea Estes, Kolby Estes, Jessie Glenn, Kegan Hays, Brandi Hubert, Autumn Long, Jacob Luebbert, Matthew Luebbert, Rylee Pals, Maleek Porter, Renee Rozzel, Brenna Smith and Kamryn Yach.
Juniors receiving awards included:  Samantha Blake, Alyana Chenault, Jessica Dwyer, Kiersten Grobe, Trevor Henderson, Riley Jelinek, Parker Love, Aubrie McRoberts, Andrea Merritt, Rebecca Petesch, Kathryn Ricke, Kyra Riggs, Madeline Schockmann, Reagen Shelby, and Joshua Simpson.
Sophomores receiving awards included:  Lacey Andrews, Morgan Branson, Rheanna Coke, Taylor Drum, Haley Dwyer, Rylee Fajen, Emmaleigh Kowal, Lauren Kreisel, Joseph Montez, Darby Mostaffa, Gabrielle Porter, Brooke Spry, Taylor Spry, Logan Strunk, and Aspen Whitaker.
Freshmen receiving awards included:  Alyssa Alcantara, Grant Chapman, Jackie Esser, Jack Gardner, Taylor Howe, Emma Johnson, Natalie Johnson, Sarah Johnson, Benjamin Kowal, Alan Landsberg, Nora McMillin, Isabella Morrison, Tyler Parker, Emma Payne, Brady Slavens, and Corbin Thirstrup.
All of the undergraduates who attended the banquet received a $20 Wal-Mart gift card.