Evening Of Excellence Honors The Best And Brightest At WHS

Top Warsaw High School students were honored at the Thirty-second Annual Academic Awards Banquet sponsored by the Warsaw Chamber of Commerce and the Warsaw R-9 School District on May 4 in the WHS gymnasium.
Kimberly Pearcy, director for the Warsaw Area Chamber of Commerce, welcomed the attendees to start out the evening.
“We had an amazing turnout with over 200 people showing up to celebrate the success of our highest achieving students.  We appreciate every individual and business that made tonight possible,” said Pearcy.
WHS Principal Danny Morrison introduced the guest speaker of the evening Zane McCubbin, a former teacher of the Warsaw School District.  McCubbin spoke to the students and their parents about appreciating what they have learned from WHS.
“I came to Warsaw when I was starting the tenth grade and I wasn’t happy about it because my father was the Baptist minister in town and I didn’t want to move,” said McCubbin.  “However, the move was the best for me because this community helped me to find my way in life.”
McCubbin went on to say how she was so proud of the top 15 in each class who were being honored and to not forget where they came from.
“We protect our students here in Warsaw and we have a great group of teachers and former teachers who do their best to prepare these students for the future,” said McCubbin.
Former teachers Barry Edwards and Kathryn Edwards were honored as the Academic Service Award winners.  Barry Edwards was a high school math teacher from 1984 until 2009.  He now serves as the minister at the Cedar Grove Baptist Church.  Kathryn Edwards retired just this past year as a John Boise Middle School teacher.
The top 15 WHS seniors were presented with scholarships of $350.  Those receiving the scholarships included:  Bobbie Baumli, Abegail Dendish, Rian Dotson, Hudson Karr, Janie Kilgore, Ashlyn Laue, Karly McKenna, Ellis Murrell, Samantha Pearman, Logan Schockmann, Anna Siegel, Ashley Spry, and Jazzmyn Swisher.   
A drawing was held for the Kevin LaPittus Memorial Scholarship.  Senior Bobbie Baumli received the $500 LaPittus Scholarship.
The Warsaw Chamber Scholarships and the LaPittus Scholarship are only presented to those in attendance at the banquet.  Those who chose not to accept the scholarships have their scholarships returned to the scholarship fund.
The top 15 WHS juniors were presented with gift cards in the amount of $30.  Those receiving gift cards included:  Alyson Alcantara, Hunter Collins, Grace Drake, Sarah Gilbert, Erin Goodpaster, Lovlie Haidusek, Zane Huffman, Josephine Kelsey, Elliot Kowal, Dallas Steinhoff, Olivia Strange, Autum Walton, and Hannah Wooldridge.
The top 15 WHS sophomores were presented with gift cards in the amount of $30.  Those receiving gift cards included: Ashlynn Adams, Brylee Brewster, Haylee Cobb, Paige Collier, Jaxon Deckard, Garrett Ferguson, Logan Gemes, Brooklyn Jackman, Maya Jolliff, Madison Lawrence, Keira Mostaffa, Drake Murrell, Marissa Ricke, and Alysia Yoder.
The top 15 WHS freshmen were presented with gift cards in the amount of $30.  Those receiving gift cards included:  Natalie Banfield, Hayley Boly, Ayden Burdick, Hailey Ferguson, Brayden Henderson, Tanna Howe, Elsie Hughes, Wesley Jackson, Amarillo Martinez, Ella Grace Miller, Kimberly Tenold, Amy Terry and Lily Ann Valentine.
Only the students in attendance to the banquet receive the gift cards.  Those who do not attend have their portion returned to the scholarship fund.
Businesses and individuals who donated to the WHS Academic Scholarship Banquet include:
Platinum Donors ($500 or greater contributions:  Shawnee Lodge #653, Warsaw Shrine Club, Community National Bank and Trust, Hawthorn Bank, Steve’s Guttering LLC, Equity Bank, and Golden Valley Memorial Healthcare.
Gold Donors ($250-$499 contribution):  Stepping Stones Garden Club, Steve’s Pest Control Inc., Dairy Queen of Warsaw.
Silver Donors ($100-$249 contribution):  Fajen Insurance, A1 Enterprises, Tracey Spry and Associates, State Farm Insurance-Suzie Brodersen, Randy and Marsha Eaton, Southwest Electric Coop, Chuck Allcorn, Reser Funeral Home, Amie and David Breshears, Warsaw Christian Church, Johnson Tax Service LLC, Beyonder Marine at Sterett Creek, Jim Falk Motors, Benton County Enterprise, and Culligan Water.
Bronze Donors ($25-$99 contribution):  Campbell Family Farms-Bob and Anita Campbell; Day’s Hauling, John and Pam Carleton, JoAnn Lane, Subway, Growing Minds Tutoring, Faith Lutheran Church, American Family Insurance-Jeanette Limback.