Lincoln To Add Juneteenth To List Of City's Paid Holidays


In new business Monday eve, Lincoln's Board of Aldermen approved the addition of June 19, "Juneteenth National Independence Day," to it's employee holidays. Alderman Jack Lietzke, who proposed the ordinance, noted that the date is also a federal holiday, and a discussion followed about whether to create an ordinance which would automatically add federal holidays to the city's list of holidays. But the group stuck with only Juneteenth as a new holiday.

The meeting opened at 6:00 PM on June 10, with Aldermen Barbara Hammond, Phil Fisher. Seth Casey and Lietzke present. Mayor Glen Nelson was absent, and Alderman Fisher served as Mayor Pro-Tem. Deputy City Clerk Kerrie Casey recorded the session in the absence of City Clerk Sabrina Brown.

First actions by the group were to approve the eve's amended agenda, minutes of it's May meeting, and authorize payment of bills presented.

Benton County Economic Director Jo Ann Lane then provided a followup on the "Safe Streets 4 All" program, to see if that board is interested in submitting an application for a planning grant. The group wished to do so. She also spoke about "Zone 31," a business that is expanding in Lincoln.

There was no old business.

Police Chief Jason Wenberg then reported that his department made 20 traffic stops in May, issued three tickets, and experienced no accidents.

Public Works Director Josh Cole said his department has been doing "general stuff," also installed a culvert, and approved all work accomplished.
Clerk Casey had no report.

Also in new business, aldermen approved renewal of its Municipal Airport liability insurance with the same firm at, $1,997, a $182 increase over the previous year. Mayor Pro-Tem Fisher discussed whether to add an additional signor to the city's general operating and Capital Improvement bank accounts at Community National Bank. The group added Deputy Clerk Casey to presently authorized signors on those accounts. Lastly, Mayor Pro-Tem Fisher, noting that the Park Board's nine members are presently serving three year terms, suggested adding two new three year members: Amy Biggerstaff and Mikel Rehle. Aldermen agreed.

The group moved into closed session just after 6: 20 PM.

The city's open meetings are usually held on 2nd Monday eves. Visitors are welcome.